Baby Uggs - Free Knitting Pattern


Bookmark Craft Freely

Similar Free Knitting Patterns

Preview This Free Knitting Pattern: Baby Uggs


Please note that the content in the "preview box" shown below is NOT copyright of craftfreely.com but rather that of its' respective owner. If you like what you see in the preview box please click here to visit the website providing this free knitting pattern.
HipKnitIzed: Free Pattern: Baby Uggs
skip to main | skip to sidebar

Knitting with an edge, sewing with a passion and parenting without a clue! This Is My Life

Saturday, September 19, 2009

Free Pattern: Baby Uggs







Okay so I have one ugg completed and ready to start the next. I decided to use blue yarn a wool/acrylic blend but I think a brown suede yarn would have had more of an "ugg" look. This pattern is pretty straight forward and is a pretty quick knit.




MATERIAL
Main colour yarn, and contrast yarn.
DPNeedles 5mm

GAUGE
21st x 28R = 10x10cm with needles 5mm

DIRECTIONS

This boot is knit all in one piece, with a seam along the back of the leg and down the middle of the sole of the foot. The sole is knit in garter stitch (knit every row), the rest of the boot is knit in Stockinette stitch (knit RS, purl WS). Fits size 0-6 months.

CO 22 stitches with needles 5mm and MC, knit one row

With right side facing, begin to work the sole as follows:

R1: k1, yo, k9, yo, k2, yo, k9, yo, k1 (26 sts)
R2 and all subsequent WS rows: knit all stitches, but knit the yo’s twisted, i.e. into the back of the yarn over
R3: k2, yo, k9, yo, k2, yo, k2, yo, k9, yo, k2 (31 sts)
R5: k3, yo, k9, yo, k7, yo, k9, yo, k3 (35 sts)
R7: k4, yo, k9, yo, k5, yo, k4, yo, k9, yo, k4 (40 sts)
R9: k5, yo, k9, yo, k6, yo, k6, yo, k9, yo, k5 (45 sts)

After row 10, continue with MC in stockinette stitch for 8 rows

Shape the instep as follows:
R1: k26, ssk, turn work (ignore the remaining stitches on the needle for now)
R2: sl1, p7, p2tog, turn work (again ignore any remaining stitches)
R3: sl1, k7, ssk, turn
R4: sl1, p7, p2tog, turn

Repeat R3 and R4 4 more times.

R13: sl1, k7, ssk, knit to end of row, turn
R14: p19, p2tog, p to end of row

Now, with RS facing, knit 5cm of stockinette across all stitches.

Change to CC, knit 2 rows (garter stitch), then BO knit wise.

FINISHING
Sew back seam using mattress stitch.

With CC, make a fake stitch line down the ‘side seams’ and across the instep, to imitate Ugg boots (if required). Copyright 2009. All rights reserved.
Posted by HipKnitIzed at 6:02 PM

24 comments:

miriam said...

those are cute!
hey, when yu say repeat r3 and r4 four times, do yu mean 4 of each so we end up with 8 rows more or 4 for both and we end up with 4 rows more?
then row 13 an 14 where are they coming from. thanks for helping

September 24, 2009 3:50 PM
HipKnitIzed said...

Repeat both rows 4 more times. Row 13 and 14 are the stitches you have left on your needles. The form the top of the boot.

September 25, 2009 7:00 AM
XENA_BOB said...

Those are really cute! Thanks for sharing.

October 26, 2009 3:52 PM
Holly Golightly said...

I ended up knitting the rows after the first ten in the round so there would be less to seam later on. It was a very fun and fast knit. Thanks for the pattern!

October 26, 2009 7:53 PM
HipKnitIzed said...

That's a great idea, thanks for the tip!

October 27, 2009 5:20 PM
Lois said...

My daughter just requested booties...these look perfect for Maine winters. Thanks so much!

November 10, 2009 9:58 AM
Lee Ann said...

I love these little booties and they are a quick knit so my granddaughter has a few pairs. My grown daughter wants a pair and I have tried to enlarge the pattern without much success. Can you help me with this. I am running out of time to get all the pairs done before the holidays.

leeannwahh@yahoo.com

November 16, 2009 8:42 PM
HipKnitIzed said...

I have used larger needles with a thicker yarn (or doubled the yarn/wool), and they ended up larger but not large enough for an adult. When I have more time I plan to design a pair that adults can wear, mostly as slippers around the house.

November 17, 2009 7:52 AM
Lee Ann said...

Thank you and I will keep working on it as I have some free time right now if I get it I will forward on to you

Lee Ann

November 21, 2009 7:20 AM
Don said...

I completed my first pair of these and they are so cute, I do have a question, how do I make the fake stitching? Thanks for sharing the pattern.

Fern

December 16, 2009 7:17 AM
HipKnitIzed said...

I just used a darning needle and weave the yarn in and out where you want the "fur" then weave in the loose ends. Kind of like you are sewing. Hope this helps!

HipKnitIzed

December 18, 2009 8:02 AM
lredmond said...

I wanted to make these in worsted weight yarns that I had in my stash. I found Vanna's Choice to be too thick - though the end result would be wearable, just for an older baby, say one year. Wool-Ease works well, using #7 needles to get the proper gauge. I tweaked the proportion just a bit by changing the number of rows just before the instep from 8 to 4. Also I found a good way to make the fur is to do it in surface crochet. I used Cupcake by Lion Brand, a boucle yarn which makes a realistic fur. I had to keep the tension extremely loose, but it was worth it for the finished product. I started at the top, went down the side, turned and up over the instep, down to the sole and back up the other side, all in one line of stitching. I added a discreet yarn tie at the top, tying at the back, not in Cupcake, though, because that yarn frays so much - just regular worsted but also in cream so it hardly shows. A wonderful pattern, thanks!

December 21, 2009 8:25 PM
HipKnitIzed said...

Dear Iredmond...Do you have any photos you could send me of your Uggs, I would love to see them
hipknitized@gmail.com Thanks :)

December 22, 2009 11:50 AM
Tabitha said...

Absolutely adorable, I just made some for my 2 month old and now my two year old wants a pair for him 'mommy can you make me some boots?' too cute ;). thanks so much for the pattern!

February 11, 2010 12:26 PM
Shadel said...

THOSE ARE SOME CUTE BOOTIES BUT I CANT GET THE STITCH WHERE YOU HAVE TO KNIT THE YO WHEN I DO IT, THE STITCH JUST LOOKS STRETCHED OUT ANY SUGGESTIONS ABOUT HOW TO DO THE STITCH

February 25, 2010 11:49 AM