Newfie Mittens - Free Knitting Pattern


Bookmark Craft Freely

Similar Free Knitting Patterns

Preview This Free Knitting Pattern: Newfie Mittens


Please note that the content in the "preview box" shown below is NOT copyright of craftfreely.com but rather that of its' respective owner. If you like what you see in the preview box please click here to visit the website providing this free knitting pattern.
Balkan Style: Free Newfie Mitten Pattern
skip to main | skip to sidebar

Free Newfie Mitten Pattern

Newfie Mitten
Size: Adult
Need:
· 2 colours of worsted weight yarn – preferably a light and a dark
· Set of 4 -4mm double pointed needles
· Stitch holder or large safety pin or even some scrap yarn

Pattern 1: *k4, sl2* repeat
Pattern 2: k1, sl2, *k4, sl2* repeat

Notes: Slip slipped stitches purl-wise.


Directions
With colour A, cast on 40 sts. Rib in K2, P2 for 3 inches increasing to 42 sts on the last round. Do not cut off colour A.

Join colour B and work 5 rounds of Pattern 1. Purl 2 rounds with colour A.

With colour B, work 5 rounds of Pattern 2, and purl 2 rounds with colour A.

With colour B, work 5 rounds of Pattern 1, and purl 2 rounds with colour A.

With colour B, work 5 rounds of Pattern 2, and purl 1 round with colour A.

Next round (Thumb): P3, slip next 6 sts to a holder, cast on 6 sts, and complete purl round.

Continue working until 7 more patterns are complete – alternating Pattern 1 and Pattern 2 with 2 purl rows of colour A after each pattern.

To decrease:
Row 1: *K4, K2tog* repeat
Row 2: *K3, K2tog* repeat
Row 3: *K2, K2tog* repeat
Row 4: *K1, K2tog* repeat
Row 5: * K2tog* repeat
Draw up stitches and fasten off.

Thumb:
Slip 6 stitches from holder, pick up and knit 8 more stitches (14 sts). Divide on three dpns. Work in stockinette stitch 2 ¼ inches or until desired length.

To decrease:
Row 1 *K2, K2tog* repeat
Row 2 *K2tog* repeat
Draw up stitches and fasten off. ENJOY!!

For child’s mitten – Cast on 30 sts. Work thumb on 7th row of Pattern 2, and work 4 more patterns for hand. 12 sts for thumb.

For larger child’s mitten – Cast on 36 sts. Work thumb on 3rd Pattern, and 7 more patterns for hand, and 14 sts for thumb.

Posted by Balkan Style Bloggers on 20.1.08 | | Labels: knitting, pattern

24 comments:

Knitting Mama said...

Thank you for sharing.
Is this your own pattern?? :)

January 20, 2008 1:05 PM
Anonymous said...

Thanks for this pattern; I''ve been looking for it for years. My mum got my girls a pair of these mitts from the hospital bazaar every year. This is definately a slice of home.

January 14, 2009 7:12 PM
Anonymous said...

Re: Newfie Mitten Pattern
Is the pattern for both left & right hands? Thanks

January 16, 2009 9:20 AM
Balkan Style Bloggers said...

You bet it is! Knit both mittens the same. Enjoy!
N

January 16, 2009 10:11 AM
sewjesse said...

I really love this pattern! It knits up quickly and is interesting as well! I am currently working on my second pair of childrens mittens for charity! I would love a hat pattern to match...hint...hint!
Thank you so much for sharing!

February 3, 2009 6:12 PM
Deborah said...

What a great mitten pattern! Thank you for sharing it with your fellow knitters!

March 8, 2009 9:43 PM
Anonymous said...

Hello - I''ve just happened across your beautiful Newfie mitten pattern. I''ve been wanting to try knitting mittens, and as I am a fairly new knitter, I have a question. In the newfie mitten do you carry color A yarn on the back of your work as you knit with the color B? And does that not make long strands of yarn on the inside of the mitten that would make the mittens hard to get onto your hands without snagging on the yarn? Sorry to be so dense, but I really want to make these mittens, and in my mind I just can''t figure it out!! Thanks so much for any help you can give me . . . and thank you for a wonderful freebie pattern!

March 23, 2009 8:45 PM
Balkan Style Bloggers said...

Thanks for the mitten love! To answer the question above, you don''t have to carry A as you knit with B. When you join B, you drop A where you left off, but don''t cut it ''cause you''ll need a few rows up again. The colourwork is done by slipping stitches knit with A. Let me know if that doesn''t answer your question! I''m happy to help.

I''ve also knit these mittens with just one colour throughout, and I love them just as much as two colours! You can see a picture of them here - http://balkanstyle.blogspot.com/2009/02/revival-of-newfie-mitten.html

Cheers!
N

March 23, 2009 9:47 PM
Anonymous said...

I''ve seen these mittens before and I love them. Thank you so much for posting the pattern. I can''t wait to get started on a pair. And I''m glad that you included instructions for children''s sizes as well.
But I have a question for you.
Would you happen to know what the gauge/tension is for these? I''ll wait to start on them, until I''m sure.
Thank you very much. :)

May 26, 2009 4:26 PM
Anonymous said...

I have been knitting these mittens for over 25 years now and everyone I give them to loves them. My daughter is 28 and still requests a pair each winter (although they never seem to wear out!).

November 4, 2009 4:40 PM
Susan said...

i'm alittle confused... i'm a newbie knitter, and i'm up to the thumb part without a problem and so far my mitten looks great... my question is, where it says cast on 6 stitches, is that cast on the 6 stitches on the stitch holder? or cast it on the needed that you just took the stitches off of? that's probably a dump question, but any help would be great :)

November 14, 2009 1:49 PM
mimi said...

how could I size these for a man's size? Any suggestions?

December 8, 2009 10:05 PM
Anonymous said...

i did make a pair of these mittens as well as a hat for a friends daughter, who was 4 at the time. I used bernat baby in pink for the main color, and white fun fur for the background color. They turned out gorgeous. for the hat, i used 4mm dpn's and put on 90sts in the pink and used k2,p2 rib for 5" and then followed the mitt pattern to 9" from beginning, and then decreased using the pink.

December 9, 2009 11:54 AM
Anonymous said...

I have now knit 5 pairs of these mittens along with hats.

Here is my pattern for the hat.

I used Patons Classic Wool and cast on 80 stitches with 3 3/4 mm needles.

I knit 5 rows of K1, P1 ribbing (I did the same ribbing for the mittens so if you want you could do K2, P2 ribbing).

Increase to 120 stitches on needle by increasing on every other stitch.

Change to 5 mm needle and work 5 patterns as for mittens.

Shape top starting with K 10 K 2 tog with starting wool.

Every other row is a knit row,

Decrease K 9, K 2 tog, decreasing by one stitch until last row K 2 tog.

I put a tassel on one hat, but left the other ones plain. It is a sort of pill box design.

Wendy Baker
wcbaker@wbaker.ca

January 15, 2010 12:52 PM
Kate said...

I also love the pattern and am so excited you shared it... but I have a question. I'm on my first round of using Pattern 2 with Color B. When I got to the end of that first round according to where I initially joined in, I'm in the middle of a component of that pattern. (I've knitted two stitches with color B.) Should I continue until I end that component (knit 2 more stitches and slip 2)? Or should I stop mid-component, and start anew?

Sorry to be so dense. I appreciate any guidance!

February 20, 2010 12:03 PM
annonomous said...

Thanks for the pattern, approximately what quantity of each colour of yarn is required to make one pair of mitts?

February 24, 2010 10:25 AM
Balkan Style Bloggers said...

Answer to Kate: Pattern 2 should probably read "Knit 1, slip 2, then repeat *knit 4, slip 2* to last three stitches, and knit those three stitches. Sorry about that!

Do that row four more times.

As for Annonomous - I'm not really sure about quantity of yarn. To be on the safe side, you could buy 100g of each colour, and you could probably make two pairs in alternating colours with what's left.

February 24, 2010 3:10 PM
Balkan Style Bloggers said...

Answer to Kate: Pattern 2 should probably read "Knit 1, slip 2, then repeat *knit 4, slip 2* to last three stitches, and knit those three stitches. Sorry about that!

Do that row four more times.

As for Annonomous - I'm not really sure about quantity of yarn. To be on the safe side, you could buy 100g of each colour,